Johnson County Justice Center

Iowa police officers honored with valor awards


(Source: “Digest: Iowa police officers honored,” Sioux City Journal, 5 November 2013)

Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds honored 11 Iowa police officers and firefighters with the 2013 Sullivan Brothers Award of Valor at a ceremony Tuesday in the Iowa Capitol building rotunda.

Tuesday’s honorees included :

The award is presented to peace officers and firefighters who — while serving in an official capacity – have distinguished themselves by the performance of a heroic act in excess of normal demands of police or fire service where the person was fully aware of the threat to his or her personal safety.

Exit mobile version