Iowa police officers honored with valor awards


(Source: “Digest: Iowa police officers honored,” Sioux City Journal, 5 November 2013)

Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds honored 11 Iowa police officers and firefighters with the 2013 Sullivan Brothers Award of Valor at a ceremony Tuesday in the Iowa Capitol building rotunda.

Tuesday’s honorees included :

  • Captains Steven Henry and Jason Barrick and firefighters Tyler Prochaska and Jon Linn, all of the Iowa Falls Fire Department
  • Deputy Jeremy Burdess of the Jasper County Sheriff’s Department;
  • Officer Adam Herman of the Newton Police Department
  • Officer Joe Bartello of the Baxter Police Department
  • Officer Zac McDowell of the Urbandale Police Department;
  • Trooper Mark Domino -of the Iowa State Patrol
  • Officer Benjamin Driscoll of the Iowa Department of Transportation’s motor vehicle division
  • Sumner Police Chief Dennis Cain

The award is presented to peace officers and firefighters who — while serving in an official capacity – have distinguished themselves by the performance of a heroic act in excess of normal demands of police or fire service where the person was fully aware of the threat to his or her personal safety.

Tags: ,

Categories: Law Enforcement


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

%d bloggers like this: